Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra

Photo: D. Matvejevas©

Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra (LNSO) has been active for more than seven decades. Leadership of Vilnius City Symphony Orchestra, founded in 1940, was entrusted to a famous composer and conductor Balys Dvarionas. In 1964, a new stage started with a young conductor Juozas Domarkas, who took his place at the orchestra’s podium. After the restoration of Lithuania’s independence, in 1990 the Orchestra was given the name and status of the National Symphony Orchestra.

The Orchestra prepares and performs symphonic music programs not only in the National Philharmonic, but also in various Lithuanian cities. For many years it has carried on with Palanga Summer Concert Series, Michał Ogiński International Music Festival in Plungė, as well as represented the Lithuanian culture abroad: concerts were given in prestigious halls in St. Petersburg, Moscow, Minsk, Madrid, Berlin, Bern, Antwerp and Stockholm, in the major cities of Great Britain, France, in particular great number of concerts took the Orchestra to neighbouring Poland. The Orchestra also appeared in Schleswig-Holstein Festival in Germany, “Prague Spring” in the Czech Republic, “Musica Romantica” in Switzerland and other famous European music festivals and concert halls, such as the Musikverein in Vienna, London’s Barbican Centre, Cologne Philharmonic, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, Moscow Conservatory Great Hall and Suntory Hall in Tokyo. In 2013, for the first time the Orchestra toured in South America (Argentina, Brazil, Peru, Ecuador), performed in the ceremonial opening and closing of the Lithuanian Presidency of the European Council in Klara Festival (Brussels) and Bialystok Philharmonic in Poland.

The LNSO has accumulated an extensive, colourful and significant repertoire, embracing works of oratorio genre and symphonic opuses of the past epochs as well as modern contemporary music with the works by the Lithuanian composers occupying an important place. Since 1991, the Orchestra has been a regular participant of the Contemporary Music Festival “Gaida”, annually presenting premières by the Lithuanian composers. It could be claimed, that almost all of the symphonic works by the Lithuanian composers were premièred by the LNSO, many of them are dedicated to maestro Juozas Domarkas. Thanks to the maestro, a large part of the Lithuanian music today sounds not only in the concerts but also from many recordings released in Lithuania and abroad („Melodiya“, „Marco Polo“, „Col legno“, „Ella Records“, „Naxos“).

Playing around 50 annual concerts, the LNSO nurtures unique traditions significantly contributing to fostering of the high music culture, encouraging the artistic ambitions of young Lithuanian composers and performers, indulging the audience with both large-scale opuses, certifying the Orchestra’s maturity, and the symphonic miniatures, prompting imagination of the listeners.


1st violins
Algimantas Peseckas (principal)
Rasa Vosyliūtė-Mickūnienė
Ilona Girdžiūnaitė
Almina Statkuvienė
Aurelija Urbietienė
Barbora Domarkaitė-Armonienė
Agnė Švagždytė
Paulius Biveinis
Giedrė Žiliukaitė
Algirdas Šimėnas
Izolda Andriukaitienė
Rita Viselgienė
Martynas Grigas
Vilija Valančauskienė
Borisas Traubas
Vytenis Grigas

2nd violins
Rolandas Sinkevičius (principal)
Vilija Peseckienė
Algirdas Jonas Verbauskas
Ramunė Grakauskaitė
Jūratė Juodelienė
Justina Plauškaitė
Rasa Kubilienė
Violeta Barkauskienė
Ingrida Elena Giunter
Sonata Skeivelienė
Lina Miniutė
Nomeda Gatelienė
Kristina Morozova

Arūnas Statkus (principal)
Vitalija Raškevičiūtė-Gelgotė
Aušra Vileikienė
Henrikas Marcinkus
Dovilė Juozapaitienė
Eglė Delkutė-Kloufi
Olga Lužnova
Ramutė Marcinkienė
Remigijus Vitkauskas
Daiva Valentaitė
Jekaterina Zacharova
Ramunė Miknienė

Edmundas Kulikauskas (principal)
Raimundas Jasiukaitis
Onutė Švabauskaitė
Dainius Misiūnas
Arvydas Malcys
Gunda Baranauskaitė
Kęstutis Eidukonis
Lionius Treikauskas
Valentinas Kaplūnas
Jonas Armonas

Double basses
Arnoldas Gurinavičius (principal)
Jonas Paulikas
Dainius Rudvalis
Augustinas Treznickas
Ramūnas Šlekaitis
Donatas Butkevičius
Vytenis Šležas

Valentinas Gelgotas (principal)
Giedrius Gelgotas
Darius Gedvilas

Tomas Bieliauskas (principal)
Viktor Palej
Romualdas Staškus

English horn
Lukas Sarpalius

Antanas Taločka (principal)
Andrius Žiūra
Vytautas Giedraitis

Bass clarinet
Aidas Kančauskas

Jonas Žemonis (principal)
Šarūnas Kačionas
Jonas Lesys
Julius Klimavičius

Artūras Mikoliūnas

French horns
Mindaugas Gecevičius (principal)
Zigmantas Augaitis
Paulius Lukauskas
Arvydas Valatkevičius
Jurgita Jankevičienė

Igor Kramarev (principal)
Laurynas Lapė
Domas Memėnas
Darius Mišeikis

Rimantas Valančius (principal)
Marius Balčytis
Albinas Gražulis

Bass trombone
Valentas Marozas

Sergijus Kirsenka

Zenonas Bagavičius (principal)
Kostia Akopian
Vladislavas Šeibakas
Saulius Astrauskas
Artūras Zimblys
Andrius Rekašius

Giedrė Tereškinė
For more information please visit the official website.