Yeol Eum Son with Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra and Olivier Grangean

February 6, 2016
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius


Paul Dukas: Overture Polyeucte
Maurice Ravel: Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 1 in G major
Georges Bizet: Symphony in C major


Yeol Eum Son – piano
Olivier Grangean – conductor
Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra 


Tonight the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra collaborates with two international musicians: Olivier Grangean, a charismatic French master of the baton whose appearances are awaited every year in Vilnius, and Yeol Eum Son, a South Korean pianist whom we met in the National Philharmonic closing concert in May 2013. Silver medallist in Tchaikovsky International (2011) and Cliburn International (2009) competitions the pianist tonight will perform Ravel’s prankish and buoyant Piano Concerto. “It is one of those isles of joy, which abound in French music” the legendary Russian pianist Heinrich Neuhaus once described the concerto.

As the title Pages of the French Music suggests, the concert programs French music. In addition to Ravel’s opus, the musicians will perform early symphonic works by two of his compatriots – Paul Dukas and George Bizet. Composed in 1891, the concert overture Polyeucte is considered to be Dukas’ first symphonic opus. According to Groves Dictionary, Bizet’s Symphony in C major (often called Symphony in C) “reveals an extraordinarily accomplished talent for a 17-year-old student in melodic invention, thematic handling and orchestration.”


For more information and tickets please visit the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society website.