Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra and Sergey Krylov

August 23, 2016
Slovenian Philharmonic, Ljubljana


Antonio Vivaldi: The Four Seasons
Manuel de Falla: Spanish popular suite
Pablo de Sarasate: Romanza Andalusa, Spanish dance, Op. 22 No. 1
Pablo de Sarasate: Introduction and Tarantella, Op. 43
Pablo de Sarasate: Carmen Fantasy, Op. 25


Sergey Krylov – violin
Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra

Violinist Sergej Krylov has worked with some of the biggest names in music. In 2008 he was appointed artistic director and principal conductor of the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra, which (together with the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Orchestra and the Vilnius String Quartet) has its home at the National Philharmonic Hall in Vilnius. Since then he has performed regularly in the dual role of soloist and conductor and excels in a wide repertoire ranging from the baroque to contemporary compositions. For his Ljubljana appearance he has selected favourite works by composers who were themselves eminent violinists. Vivaldi’s famous cycle, consisting of four violin concertos of three movements each, takes listeners through the four seasons of the year. The second part of the programme is devoted to the Spanish musical tradition, full of virtuosity and passion. It begins with a suite arranged for violin by the Polish violinist Paul Kochanski with the blessing of its composer Manuel de Falla. This is followed by two works by Pablo de Sarasate, including the attractive Carmen Fantasy based on the most famous melodies from Bizet’s opera Carmen.


For more information and tickets please visit the official website of the Ljubljana Festival.

Photos: Dmitrijus Matvejevas and Margarita Vorobjovaitė © Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society